Past BSN meetings, speakers and prize-winners

BNG/BSN Annual Meetings

1985 Oxford (with Physiological Society)

1986 Sutton Bonnington (with SSF)

1988 Cambridge and Rennes (with SNE)

1989 Bristol

1990 Nottingham and London (with SSF)

1991 Cambridge/Babraham

1992 Edinburgh

1993 Glasgow (with IUPS)

1994 Manchester

1995 Cardiff and Oxford (with SSF)

1996 Edinburgh

1997 Cambridge

1998 Lille (with SNE)

1999 London

2000 Bristol

2001 Harrogate (with BNA) and Cambridge (with SSF)

2002 Bristol - International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

2003 Manchester

2004 Glasgow

2005 Oxford (with SNE)

2006 Pittsburgh - International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

2007 Nottingham

2008 Bristol

2009 Edinburgh

2010 Rouen - International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

2011 Cambridge

2012 Aberdeen

2013 Manchester

2014 Sydney - International Congress of Neuroendocrinology


2016 Glasgow


Mortyn Jones Lecturers

With his untimely death at the age of 51, Mortyn Jones' friends and colleagues made a collection to establish a lecture to be delivered annually by a researcher in a field related to Mortyn's interests. Mortyn was born in 1936 in Wales, won a scholarship to study at grammar school and then went on to study medicine at the Royal Free Hospital in London. Before registration, he worked in the field of of endocrine research with Professor Bob Hodges.  He gained his PhD in 1965, and then went to St Thomas' Hospital Medical School.  His love of research and teaching developed in the Physiology Department which was led by Professor Henry Barcroft, but it was Professor Mike Bradbury, working on isolated frog brain preparations, who helped him make a major contribution to endocrinology.  Mortyn realised that similar preparations could be established with mammalian tissue.  He pioneered the use of the isolated rat hypothalamus incubated in vitro as a preparation for studying neurotransmitter regulation of corticotrophin releasing factor secretion, and for locating the site and mechanism of corticosteroid negative feedback.  Mortyn never forgot his clinical roots and applied his research, wherever possible, to clinical medicine, for example his work on Nelson's syndrome.   He later moved to the Department of Gynaecology at St Thomas’ where he obtained his DSc.  Mortyn's enthusiasm attracted PhD students and senior researchers to his laboratory from the UK and around the world. This annual lecture has been given in his memory since 1989, originally at the British Neuroendocrinology Group annual meeting.  It is now hosted in rotation between the British Society for Neuroendocrinology, the World Congress for Neurohypophyseal Hormones, and the International Congress of Neuroendocrinology.    

1989 Paul Plotsky (San Diego)

1990 Gavin Vinson (London)

1991 Mary Dallman (San Francisco)

1992 Malcolm Parker (London)

1993 Colin Ingram (Bristol)

1994 Rainer Landgraf (Munich)

1995 Ferenc Antoni (Edinburgh)

1996 Michael Hastings (Cambridge)

1997 Daniel Bichet (Montreal)

1998 Michael Schumacher (Kremlin-Bicetre)

1999 Jonathan Seckl (Edinburgh)

2000 Marian Joels (Utrecht)

2001 David Murphy (Bristol)

2002 Alan Watts (Los Angeles)

2003 Peter Morgan (Aberdeen)

2004 Ruth Wood (Los Angeles)

2005 Mitsuhiro Kawata (Kyoto)

2006 Steve Matthews (Toronto)

2007 Greti Aguilera (Bethesda)

2009 Dave Grattan (Dunedin)

2010 John Morris (Oxford)

2011 Tatsushi Onaka (Jichi, Japan)

2012 Fran Ebling (Nottingham)

2013 Quentin Pittman (Calgary)

2014 Stafford Lightman (Bristol)


BSN Plenary Lecturers

1995 Gareth Leng (10th Anniversary Lecture)

2000 Fred Turek (Millenium Lecture)

2004 Steve Bloom

2005 Alain Enjalbert

2007 Gerald Lincoln

2008 Stafford Lightman

2009 Julian Davies (Manchester)

2011 Fahrettin Kelestimur (Erciyes)

2012 Megan Holmes (Edinburgh)

2013 Michael Hastings (Cambridge)

Keynote Lectures

2011 Paul Fletcher (Cambridge)

2013 Peter Clayton (Manchester)


The Michael Harbuz Young Investigator Prize

2007 Waljit Dhillo (London)

2008 Simon McAthur (London)

2009 Alexander Tups (Marburg)

2011 Alastair Garfield (Cambridge)

2012 Jyothis George (Edinburgh)

2013 Mino Belle (Manchester)




Details of Eligibility & Prize 

BNG/BSN Student Presentation Prize

1995 Hui Wang (Oxford) and David Spratt (Brabaham)

1997 Dan Ma (Oxford)

1998 Sharon Simonian (Babraham) and Sebastien Bouret (Lille)

1999 Rachel Forsdyke (Babraham)

2000 Ellacott (Manchester)

2001 Jonathan Johnston (Manchester)

2003 Alex Tups (Marburg/Aberdeen)

2004 James Bowe (London), Jennifer Stark and Vicki Scott (both Manchester)

2005 Nick Lelos (Edinburgh), runners-up Evelyn Davies (Oxford), Juliana Bales (Edinburgh

2007 Michael Helwig (Marburg)

2008 Zoe Hawke (Manchester), David Hodson (Bristol), Jessica Rudnay (Edinburgh), Shuzhi Zhou (London)

Next Meeting | Annual Meeting Archive | AGM Minutes | Society accounts